M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy

The M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy motorway project comprises the design, build, finance, operation, and maintenance of three new sections of road of the M11, N30, and an N80 link in Ireland.  The M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy section connects with the N11 Arklow Rathnew PPP project (constructed by BAM in 2015) and creates an additional 26 km stretch of motorway/dual carriageway between Dublin and Wexford.

On Thursday the 18th of July 2019, the M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy motorway in County Wexford, Ireland was officially opened to traffic by An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar with Cormac O’Rourke, Chairman of Transport Infrastructure Ireland and Councillor Michael Sheehan, Chairman of Wexford County Council.  Officially opening the motorway, An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar TD stated, “The M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy Motorway is a first-class piece of transport infrastructure. I thank all involved in the efficient delivery of the project and I wish all who travel on the road a safe journey."

Three new sections of road combine to create the M11 Gorey to Enniscorthy PPP Project, the M11/N11 mainline, the N30 dual carriageway and the N30 mainline, 26 km of motorway standard, 4 km of dual carriageway and 8 km of single carriageway respectively.  The scheme will result in reductions in travel times on the Dublin to Wexford route of approximately 15 minutes during off-peak times and 30 minutes during peak times. The N30 is operated and maintained by Wexford County Council.  

The scheme includes fifty-seven new structures, including eight overbridges, five under bridges, thirty-one farm accommodation underpasses, and three Rail River bridges.

The scheme’s principal features are:

  • on the M11 mainline there are two grade separated junctions (Frankfort and Ballydawnmore) and one at-grade roundabout (Scurlocksbush);
  • the N80 link has one at-grade dumb-bell junction (Clavass);
  • the N30 link has two at-grade roundabouts (Milehouse and Templescoby);
  • the main structural feature of this scheme is the crossing of the River Slaney combined with a crossing of the Dublin-Rosslare rail line and a local road;
  • a railway bridge at Ballygullen – crossing the Dublin-Rosslare Rail line; and
  • a crossing of the River Urrin in Bessmount on the N30.